The original church of the German Lutherans, was situated in Fish street, now Saratoga street, the identical establishment, now known as the African Bethel Meeting House,--a venerable looking building, with less of architectural elegance to boast of than Noah's Ark, or the Goede Vrow described by Knickerbocker. In 1808, the German Lutherans disposed of the church in Fish street, and erected that in North Gay street, a large and commodious edifice. It has the foundation for a steeple that is in part erected The present pastor is the Rev. Mr. Uhlhorn.
Excerpted from John H.B. Latrobe, Jr., Picture of Baltimore (Baltimore, MD: Lucas Fielding, Jr., 1832), 139.